Loading…
Long Range Wi-Fi Tutorial

Long Range Wi-Fi Tutorial

In this Long Range Wi-Fi tutorial, I will show you how to significantly improve the reception of a USB Wi-Fi adapter. A long-range Wi-Fi setup is part of the basic Wi-Fi hacking system, allowing you to attack from a distance. Prerequisite for the amplification of the reception is a Wi-Fi adapter with SMA / RP-SMA antenna connection.

Alfa AWUS036NHA USB-Adapter

In this tutorial I´m useing the Alfa AWUS036NHA USB adapter. Other USB Wi-Fi adapters specifically for Wi-Fi hacking I´m introducing in this tutorial – Wi-Fi adapter for Kali Linux 2018

Long Range Wi-Fi Tutorial

Without additional reinforcement I´m already receiving 9 Wlan networks. When I only use the built-in laptop Wi-Fi card I´m receiving only 4 networks. This means that investing in a Long Range Adapter has already paid off.

Possibilities for signal amplification

In principle, there are two different ways to increase the reception. On the one hand by a Wi-Fi booster and on the other by the use of stronger antennas. However, the laws of the country in which the Wi-Fi adapter is operated must be observed. In Germany, for example, a signal amplifier is not generally prohibited. But this may only be used to amplify the signal to compensate for signal loss, for example, by long cable runs.

In Germany, the following limit values apply

  • In the frequency range 2.400 GHz to 2.4835 GHz, the maximum radiated power shall not exceed 100 milliwatts
  • In the frequency range 5.150 GHz to 5.350 GHz, the upper limit is 200 milliwatts
  • For the frequency range 5,470 to 5,725 gigahertz a maximum of 1 watt is allowed

Wi-Fi Booster

To amplify the signal, I first use a 2500 mw Wi-Fi amplifier from Sunhans. This costs about 40 euros on Amazon. The amplifier is simply screwed directly between the Wi-Fi adapter and the supplied 6 dBi antenna with the SMA / RP-SMA connectors. Then the amplifier is connected to the power supply and supplied with power. Thanks to the reinforcement, I already receive 14 networks.

 2000 mw Wi-Fi Booster von Sunhans

9 dBi Omnidirectional antenna

I install another antenna to further improve the Long Range Wi-Fi setup. I swap the 6 dBi Sunhans antenna for a 9 dBi Alfa antenna. Now I could increase the range a bit and receive 16 networks.

9 dBi Alfa Antenne

25 dBi Yagi directional antenna

The omnidirectional antennas used so far receive the Wi-Fi signals from all directions. But what if we use a directional antenna? To really achieve a Long Range Wi-Fi setup I use a 25 dBi Yagi antenna. With the first orientation from the window, I reach a proud 25 networks. Of course, the number of accessible networks can increase significantly depending on the orientation of the antenna.

25 dBi Yagi Antenne

Conclusion

Compared to the original Long Range USB adapter, this advanced setup is unbeatable, but not legally usable in Germany. In case of disregard of the laws threaten in Germany according to Telecommunications Act (TKG) bus fines of up to 500,000 euros.

Links to the products used

 

Another option

If the range is still not enough for you, you have another option. With a grid parabolic antenna, such as a 24dBi TP-Link TL-ANT2424B in this case, the setup can be further enhanced.

 24dBi TP-Link TL-ANT2424B

Loading…
Long Range Wi-Fi Tutorial

Long Range Wi-Fi Tutorial

In diesem Long Range Wi-Fi Tutorial zeige ich, wie man den Empfang eines USB Wi-Fi Adapters deutlich verbessern kann. Ein Long Range Wi-Fi Setup gehört zur Gundaustattung für das Wi-Fi Hacking, damit auch Angriffe aus größerer Distanz möglich sind. Vorraussetzung für die Verstärkung des Empfangs ist ein Wi-Fi Adapter mit SMA/RP-SMA Antennenanschluss.

Alfa AWUS036NHA USB-Adapter

In diesem Tutorial nutze ich den Alfa AWUS036NHA USB-Adapter. Weitere USB Wi-Fi Adapter speziell für das Wi-Fi Hacking stelle ich in diesem Tutorial vor – Wi-Fi Adapter für Kali Linux 2018

Long Range Wi-Fi Tutorial

Ohne eine zusätzliche Verstärkung empfange ich bereits 9 Wlan Netzwerke. Nutze ich lediglich die im Laptop eingebaute Wi-Fi Karte empfange ich nur 4 Netzwerke. Dies bedeutet also, dass sich die Investition in einen Long Range Adapter bereits gelohnt hat.

Möglichkeiten zur Signalverstärkung

Prinzipiell gibt es zwei verschiedene Möglichkeiten den Empfang zu verstärken. Zum einem durch einen Wi-Fi Booster und zum anderen durch die Verwendung stärkerer Antennen. Hierbei müssen jedoch die Gesetze des jeweiligen Landes beachtet werden, in dem der Wi-Fi Adapter betrieben wird. In Deutschland ist beispielsweise ein Signalverstärker nicht grundsätzlich verboten. Aber dieser darf nur zur Verstärkung des Signals eingesetzt werden um Signalverluste, beispielsweise durch lange Kabelstrecken, auszugleichen.

In Deutschland gelten diesbezüglich folgende Grenzwerte

  • Im Frequenzbereich 2,400 GHz bis 2,4835 Gigahertz darf die maximale Strahlungsleistung 100 Milliwatt nicht übersteigen
  • Im Frequenzbereich 5,150 GHz bis 5,350 Gigahertz liegt die Obergrenze bei 200 Milliwatt
  • Für den Frequenzbereich 5,470 bis 5,725 Gigahertz sind maximal 1 Watt erlaubt

Wi-Fi Booster

Um das Signal zu verstärken nutze ich als erstes einen 2000 mw Wi-Fi Verstärker von Sunhans. Dieser kostet bei Amazon ca. 40 Euro. Der Verstärker wird mit den SMA/RP-SMA Anschlüssen einfach direkt zwischen den Wi-Fi Adapter und der mitgelieferten 6 dBi Antenne geschraubt. Anschließend wird der Verstärker an das Netzteil angeschlossen und mit Strom versorgt. Dank der Verstärkung empfange ich nun bereits 14 Netzwerke.

 2000 mw Wi-Fi Booster von Sunhans

9 dBi Rundstrahlantenne

Ich installiere eine andere Antenne um das Long Range Wi-Fi Setup weiter zu verbessern. Ich tausche die 6 dBi Sunhans Antenne gegen eine 9 dBi Alfa Antenne. Nun konnte ich die Reichweite noch ein wenig erhöhen und empfange 16 Netzwerke.

9 dBi Alfa Antenne

25 dBi Yagi Richtantenne

Die bisher verwendeten Rundstrahlantenen empfangen die Wi-Fi Signale aus allen Richtungen. Was aber wenn wir eine Richtantenne benutzen? Um wirklich ein Long Range Wi-Fi Setup zu erreichen verwende ich eine 25 dBi Yagi Antenne. Mit der ersten Ausrichtung aus dem Fenster erreiche ich stolze 25 Netzwerke. Natürlich kann sich die Anzahl der erreichbaren Netzwerke je nach Ausrichtung der Antenne deutlich erhöhen.

25 dBi Yagi Antenne

Fazit

Im Vergleich zu dem ursprünglichen Long Range USB-Adapter ist dieses erweiterte Setup natürlich unschlagbar, jedoch in Deutschland nicht legal einsetzbar. Bei Missachtung der Gesetze drohen in Deutschland laut Telekommunikationsgesetz (TKG) Busgeldstrafen von bis zu 500.000 Euro.

Links zu den verwendeten Produkten

Weitere Option

Wenn dir die Reichweite noch immer nicht ausreicht, hast du noch eine weitere Option. Mit einer Grid-Parabolantenne, wie in diesem Fall eine 24dBi TP-Link TL-ANT2424B, lässt sich das Setup noch weiter verstärken.

 24dBi TP-Link TL-ANT2424B