Loading…
Hacking Like Mr Robot

Hacking like Mr. Robot Part 6 – Rubber Ducky

In an episode of Mr. Robot, Mobley gives Angela a Rubber Ducky. If she does not get the femtocell up and running, Mobley says she can simply plug in the USB flash drive, wait a few seconds and then pull out. What’s it all about?

The USB Rubber Ducky is a keystroke injection tool disguised as a normal USB stick. Computers recognize a Rubber Ducky as a keyboard, but with the big difference that a Rubery Ducky automatically enters keystrokes. With more than 1000 words per minute you can execute very large commands and there are no limits to creativity.

Hak5 Rubber Ducky

Payloads can be created with a fairly simple scripting language. The payloads can be used to delete inverted shells, insert binaries, brute force codes, and many other automated attacks.

In the episode of Mr. Robot, Rubber Ducky is programmed to run a real tool called Mimikatz. Mimikatz reads out all hashes and passwords from the available memory. That’s not all the hackers can achieve with the femtocell, but it’s a lot and therefore the perfect plan B.

Since 2010, the Rubber Ducky is a favorite among hackers, penetration testers and IT professionals. The USB Rubber Ducky by hak5 is available for about 50 Euro. However, there are several cheaper options on how to build a rubber ducky yourself. How to build a Rubber Ducky for about 5 Euro from the developer board DigiSpark ATtiny85 from Arduino I show you here – Link to the DigiSpark Rubber Ducky Tutorial (cooming soon)

DigiSpark ATtiny85 by Arduino

Buy Digispark ATtiny85 – Link to Amazon

Loading…
Hacking Like Mr Robot

Hacken wie Mr. Robot Teil 6 – Rubber Ducky

In einer Episode von Mr. Robot gibt Mobley Angela einen Rubber Ducky. Falls sie die Femtozelle nicht zum Laufen bekommt, kann sie laut Mobley einfach den USB-Stick einstecken, ein paar Sekunden warten und dann herausziehen. Was hat es damit auf sich?

Der USB Rubber Ducky ist ein Keystroke-Injection-Tool, getarnt als normaler USB-Stick. Computer erkennen einen Rubber Ducky als Tastatur, jedoch mit dem großen Unterschied das ein Rubery Ducky die Tastatureingaben automatisch eingibt. Mit über 1000 Wörtern pro Minute können so sehr umfangreiche Befehle ausgeführt werden und der Kreativität sind keine Grenzen gesetzt.

Hak5 Rubber Ducky

Mit einer recht einfachen Skriptsprache können Payloads erstellt werden. Die Payloads können zum Löschen von umgekehrten Shells, zum Einfügen von Binärdateien, Brute-Force-Codes und vielen anderen automatisierten Angriffen verwendet werden.

In der Episode von Mr. Robot ist der Rubber Ducky so programmiert, dass er ein reales Tool namens Mimikatz ausführt. Mimikatz ließt alle Hashes und Passwörter aus dem verfügbaren Speicher aus. Das ist nicht alles was die Hacker mit der Femtozelle erreichen können, aber es ist eine Menge und somit der perfekte Plan B.

Seit 2010 ist der Rubber Ducky ein Favorit unter Hackern, Penetrationstestern und IT-Profis. Den USB Rubber Ducky von hak5 gibt es für ca. 50 Euro. Jedoch gibt es mehrere günstigere Optionen, wie man sich einen Rubber Ducky selber bauen kann. Wie du dir einen Rubber Ducky für ca. 5 Euro aus der Entwickler-Platine DigiSpark ATtiny85 von Arduino bauen kannst zeige ich dir hier – Link zum DigiSpark Rubber Ducky Tutorial (Bald online)

DigiSpark ATtiny85 von Arduino

Digispark ATtiny85 kaufen – Link zu Amazon