Loading…
Hacking Like Mr Robot

Hacking like Mr. Robot Part 3 – Cloning RFID Cards

To gain access to Sentinel, Darlene applies a well-known hardware hack and exploits her relationship with an FBI agent – Cloning RFID Cards

Darlene invites FBI Agent Dom to the bar, where they first talked in person. Dom comes with all her usual FBI utensils, such as her badge, her gun, and the RFID card that she uses to digitally authenticate herself as an FBI agent.

Darlene has been aiming for exactly this RFID card because she has hidden a Tastic RFID Thief in her backpack.

The Tastic RFID Thief is a hardware device that reads and steals digital information from nearby RFID cards. The Tastic RFID Thief by Bishop Fox is a real device that anyone can make. The website of Bishop Fox provides all plans and software free of charge. With this device, security researchers can demonstrate how attackers can steal the information from RFID cards up to a meter away.

The hardware needed to build a Tastic RFID Thief from Bishop Fox is quite expensive. But it is also cheaper, for example with a Raspberry Pi and an RFID RC522 module. This cheap alternative is not quite as powerful as the RFID cards have to be placed. But especially for beginners a good alternative.

RFID RC522 Modul

Buy RFID RC522 – Link to Amazon
Buy Raspberry Pi – Link to Amazon

Loading…
Hacking Like Mr Robot

Hacken wie Mr. Robot Teil 3 – RFID Karten klonen

Um Zugang zu Sentinel zu bekommen wendet Darlene einen bekannten Hardware Hack an und nutzt ihre Beziehung zu einer FBI-Agentin aus – RFID Karten klonen

Darlene lädt die FBI Agentin Dom in die Bar ein, in der sie sich zuerst persönlich unterhalten haben. Dom kommt mit all ihren üblichen FBI Utensilien, wie ihrem Abzeichen, ihrer Waffe und der RFID-Karte, mit der sie sich als FBI Agentin digital authentifiziert kann.

Auf genau diese RFID-Karte hat es Darlene abgesehen, denn sie hat einen Tastic RFID Thief in ihrem Rucksack versteckt.

Bei dem Tastic RFID Thief handelt es sich um ein Hardwaregerät, mit dem digitale Informationen von RFID-Karten in unmittelbarer Nähe gelesen und gestohlen werden können. Der Tastic RFID Thief von Bishop Fox ist ein echtes Gerät, das jeder herstellen kann. Die Webseite von Bishop Fox stellt alle Pläne und Software kostenfrei zur Verfügung. Mit diesem Gerät können Sicherheitsforscher demonstrieren, wie Angreifer die Informationen aus RFID-Karten aus bis zu einem Meter Entfernung stehlen können.

Die benötigte Hardware um sich einen Tastic RFID Thief von Bishop Fox zu bauen ist recht kostspielig. Aber es geht auch günstiger, beispielsweise mit einem Raspberry Pi und einem RFID RC522 Modul. Diese günstige Alternative ist nicht ganz so Leistungsstark, da die RFID Karten aufgelegt werden müssen. Aber besonders für Anfänger eine gute Alternative.

RFID RC522 Modul

RFID RC522 kaufen – Link zu Amazon
Raspberry Pi kaufen – Link zu Amazon